Welcome to TMP's trying to conceive, pregnancy & parenting forums!
TTC & Pregnancy Tools: Ovulation Calculator | hCG Calculator | Due Date Calculator
The TMP Store

Preconception, Pregnancy, Parenting & You

Go Back   The Mommy Playbook > Parenting & Family Forums > The Preschooler Playground (ages 3-5)

Anyone else not starting Kinder until 6? - The Preschooler Playground (ages 3-5)

Old October 11th, 2013, 03:21 PM   #1
Casey

Member #: 6646
Anyone else not starting Kinder until 6?

My oldest, Lincoln, has a mid-July birthday and I do not intend to start him in Kindergarten until he is 6. I am getting quite a bit of backlash from family/friends b/c he is clearly gifted and they are afraid he will be "bored" b/c he will be ahead of his peers.

But I am a teacher and know what Kindergarten has become and I do not feel that he is developmentally ready. We do hands-on learning, read and talk about stories and explore his interests/questions at a deep level, but he is not interested in sitting still to write for more than about 5 minutes and he is not interested in trying to learn to read (although he knows the letters and their sounds). I intend to let him enjoy his learning at a developmentally appropriate level as long as possible b/c I see firsthand every day the devastating results that occur when children are asked to complete tasks that they simply are not ready to do yet.

Thoughts?

Casey is offline   Reply With Quote
Please register or login to remove these ads.

Old October 11th, 2013, 03:34 PM   #2
Fayth
Lead Guide
a ninja of love

Member #: 732
You know your child best! Although, I wouldn't make a final decision until late summer. Lil m, my oldest, has a July birthday. The year before I would not have thought he was ready, but by the time he was 5 he was totally ready.

Kindergarten isn't kindergarten anymore. It's sad

Fayth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2013, 03:39 PM   #3
gouldie

Member #: 5706